5 Games I’ve replayed many times.

There are so so many games out there that replaying a game really is unthinkable isn’t it? I mean, why would you bother when there’s a whole plethora of new games to keep your interest up right? Well fortunately or unfortunately depending on how you judge me, I like returning to games if I’ve enjoyed them. I do the same with films and books so why not games right?

Returning to a game you’ve completed seems counterproductive in its essence. Surely you’ve seen all there is to see right? Well I don’t really look at it that way mainly because I don’t replay my games straight after I’ve finished it. You see, games such as Aliens Colonial Marines is a game that I play usually once a year. Why you might ask, it’s a terrible game? I would question is it though? Let me explain.

I’m a big big fan of the Alien franchise and watch all the films (back to back usually) once a year. I do this because I love the universe, I love everything about it and rewatching them again just makes me love it more. Although Alien Colonial Marines is deemed a terrible game ( I don’t think it was BTW), I love that I can go into that world and fight those pesky Alien creatures. Who wouldn’t? I also put this to you, Alien vs Predator is deemed a great game on the Xbox 360 yet the Marine part of the game is the same as Colonial Marines! Strange!!!!

I don’t have a massive amount of games I replay. In fact it’s a handful, but the games I do replay I really enjoy. Take, for instance, the Mafia remake on PS4. That world is so big and interesting. Take a look for yourself. Take a car and drive around or follow someone on foot and see the life within the city. I once saw a man peeing up against a pillar holding up a road above him. I followed a copper on foot to see where he went and found he did a huge loop talking to people as he went about his beat. You can drive for hours and see different stuff happening all the time. It’s fascinating. The story mode is such a good back story too. Interesting and furfilling. Same with Mafia 2 remake as well. Such a rich vibrant teaming city for us to explore. So with that said, lets get into the games I’m talking about.

The Last Stop

The Last Stop is another fantastic repayable game. In fact I’ve got Platinumn trophy on ps5 for this game I liked it so much. The story, actually there are three stories played in chapters separately, that converge towards the end and they both interesting and exciting stories. You as the player, chose the outcome of said stories and the endings depend on what you’ve chosen throughout the game. I thoroughly enjoyed all three stories and replayed it several times to try and get different endings. It’s also a British themed story set in London and because I’m from the UK I could relate to the lingo and places. Fantastic game.

Alien colonial marines.

Little controversial this game. Why you might ask?., well it didn’t do well. In fact I believe that it bombed but guess what, I love it. I don’t care about the glitches or some of the bugs, “I just wanna know, where they are! ” (if you’re an Alien fan, you’ll know what that sentence is 🙂 ) Interestingly, the Colonial Marine gets another more successful outing in Alien vs Predator later on. Same thing but with 3 choices, play as an Alien, a Predator or a Colonial Marine. As far as I can tell the gameplay I pretty much the same as Colonial Marines. Who knew? If you’re a fan then don’t listen to the critics have a go yourself.

Alien Breed

This is an interesting one. Alien Breed is an Xbox arcade game and contains 3 games on one disc. Alien Breed 1,2 and 3. Each game is a top down view traversing an doomed ship as it decends rapily. Your job is to try and turn off valves, fix things and try and stop the ship crashing whilst battling a multitude of Aliens on board. I loved this set of games so much that I played each game back to back. The graphics are pretty good for the era and the atmoshere is a feeling of dread and panic throughout.

Inside/ Limbo

Actually there are 2 games in this part really, Inside and its predecessor Limbo. These games have no dialog and the visuals are quite simple in appearance, Limbo particular. Limbos grey, Black and white graphics really add to the atmoshere. You play as a little (boy?) trying to make his way through the woods into the city whilst trying to avoid traps, big spiders and a multitude of problems as he moves forwards. It’s a kinda of side scrolling, puzzle game and it’s bloody good. Inside takes it all one step further. Colour is introduced, it’s still a side scrolling puzzle game, but theres more. The game is slightly strange as well (no spoilers). I loved both games and have revisited Inside on more than one occassion.

Peter Jacksons King Kong

This game was first completed by myself on the PSP (PlayStation Portable) way too many years ago. Being a movie fan I’ve always enjoyed the King Kong movies (especially the one with Samual L Jackson in (Kong) so being able to play the actual film staring Jack Black, I jumped at it. The PSP version (and indeed the PlayStation 2 as well) follow the film quite well. The bonus in this game though, is that you can play as Kong within the game which is brilliant. I wasn’t that keen at the frustating ending on the game as trying to navigate through the city was somewhat annoying at best and sometimes I couldn’t figure where to go. The game though, is brilliant. I’ve played the PSP version twice and enjoyed it both time. I’m looking at completing it on the ps2 soon as well. Mainly to see if there are any differences.

Revisiting games for me makes complete sence if you’ve enjoyed them the first time around. I’ve other games I could talk about but I’ll leave it at 5 for now. I may do another blog another time with more.

Thanks for reading my blogs. Here are more I’ve done over the years

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.