The RGH Xbox 360. Is it naughty or another reason?

If you didn’t know what an RGH Xbox 360 is then I shall tell you. It’s a hacked version of the Xbox 360 allowing you to play backup games. “Oh piracy then?” you might ask. Well actually no for me. You see, this console allows me to add my physical collection to the hard drive allowing me to save my disc from damage and wear and tear. I have a big collection of Xbox 360 games that I really enjoy and as a result I want to keep these going for a very long time into the future. The RGH Xbox acts as a digital console effectively and that’s something I like. Yes you could pirate games if you really wanted to, but as I have over 200 physical games why would I? Not to mention Xbox 360 games are very very cheap to buy.

I picked the RGH Xbox up last year for the princely sum of £85. Much more than a normal Xbox really. But for me it was worth it to preserve my discs. It comes with a lot of emulators which I’m not interested in to be really honest. The snes, nes or any other game of that era doesn’t really do it for me, I’ve no affinity for it so I binned those application as soon as I received my console. Same for the of Xbox too as I couldn’t really get it to work anyway. Nope I’m only interested in the 360 side of this fantastic console.

Now the only thing that worries me really is the fact that it runs on one of the early elite consoles, you know the ones that had the red ring of death?  Luckily, the modder (something I couldn’t do BTW) has cleaned and has added new thermal paste to the console effectively making it new again. To be fair to them, the console actually looks really well considering its age!

On the console is a program that allows you to take the contents of your disc and add it to the hard drive. It’s simple and once mastered, straight forwards. I worked it out quite quickly. I love how I have a descent ui now with the box art flowing across the screen for easy finding of the game I wish to play. It did come with a few games installed, but for they are long since gone,;mainly because I’m only interested in my games, the collection I’ve built of games I either love or want to play.

So, is a console for you? Well that depends on what you want it for. If it’s preserving your collection then hell yes. If it’s for piracy then that’s your business. It’s my most played console, and I have loads BTW! It’s so much simpler than messing with discs and saves the tray, the mechanism and the disc from being scratched. Win win

.

Thanks for reading my blogs. Here are others I’ve written.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.