Games I’m currently playing in September 23

Sorry I’ve been slacking on these blogs of late, mostly because I was struggling to think of things to write. I have other blogs that take up a lot of time too, so the gaming one has taken a back seat of late. But fear no more, I shall hopefully be blogging once again. So……

I’ve been playing a lot of part games this month mainly because of my new You Tube channel linked here:

I’m trying to build up a channel based mostly off Xbox 360, PlayStation 2 and PSP games , but I do dabble in other retro consoles as well as new stuff. As a result, I’ve been streaming live often on a night time playing many games over a period of time. It’s going ok so far and I’ve started to have some regulars viewers and interactions with myself throughout the live show. I do videos as well , but mostly Live shows.

Anyway, the games.

As I’m trying to build an audience, the games have been varied and quite a lot over the last month ranging from Racing games to old school Atari games and more. Lets get into it shall we?

Half life ep2 Xbox 360

This is from the Orange Box collection which contains the following;

There is actually 5 games on the disc, only 4 is mentioned on the front cover. I’m currently playing Half Life 2. This game is a fantastic game and well worth the visit in my opinion. The adventure focuses on the survival of Gordon Freeman, a Scientist who witnessed a portal open to another world with creatures and a faction which began taking over the world. Gordon is the one that can change it all, but he is on the run and is trying to make it to safety.

Here’s how Wikipedia describes the story

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Half-Life_2

It’s a fantastic story with fantastic graphics and gameplay. Even the original one on the original Xbox is good. I recently picked up the original game and I’m looking forwards to playing this one too.

The game is around 12 hrs long which I don’t consider too bad. I’m really all about short games maybe up to 10 hours long and this is just over. The game reminds me of the pc era I used to play in around 2004 when I played a shed load of Roller Coaster Tycoon 3. Halflife had been out a few years prior to this, but I still had it and still enjoyed playing it!

score 9/10

Need for speed shift Xbox 360

NFs Shift and Shift 2 are prequels (I believe) to Project Cars? They are made by Slightly Mad Studios and , if you’re a car nut, you’ll know exactly who Slightly Mad are! Project Cars was a phenomenal racing game and NFS Shift isn’t far off Project Cars. You can tell the DNA is there when playing the game. It does, however, have a few niggles that I don’t really like that thankfully didn’t make it into Project Cars. The way the back of the car moves around doesn’t give you confidence when entering a corner and as a result, races are won and lost on those corners. I love that the bits of the track and the inside of the cars blur when hit speed. It’s a little like peripheral vison and its a great inclusion to the experience. I’ve also picked up Shift 2 both on the Ps2 and the Xbox 360 which I’m looking forwards to getting into.

score 7/10

Ori and the Will of the Wisps….Nintendo Switch

This is against the grain of my channel really as it’s not at all retro, but as stated at the beginning of the blog, I do play modern gaming as well.

There are 2 entries to the Ori stables as far as I’m aware. Will of the Wisps and Blind Forrest. I’ve yet to play Blind Forrest, but Will of the Wisps is like no other game; especially if you play it as I do on the Oled Switch! This game is the most beautiful game I’ve ever seen and I’ve seen a lot of games over my time! The visuals within it are incredible as you play this Metroidvania/ platform game. You play as Ori in this gorgeous game, who traverses tunnels, jumping, fighting enemies and looking for secrets and inaccessible areas.

score 8/10

Varth, Shmups, Ps2

Varth is a bloody tough schmup even on easy mode! I love these types of games and usually finish through to the end which is usually around 30 mins or so. They are designed to take your money in the arcade thus why its a short game. Over my time gaming I’ve complete a plethora of these types of game and enjoyed every one. I usually complete most at the Arcade Club in Leeds as they have a lot of Astra Port games. This game is a little different though. I initially thought that, like most Shmups on consoles, You’ll get continues and every time you die you start from that point. However this game doesn’t do that. You instead start from the beginning of that level and as a result it is taking a lot longer to get through. I haven’t finished it yet, but I will.

It’s a bit of a bullet hell and is difficult to navigate. It’s also part of the Capcom Classic Collection v2 on the PlayStation 2 which is where I discovered it. I’m glad I did, it’s fantastic!

Score 7/10

Enemy within Xbox 360

As the title states, I nearly shat myself playing this game. No not literally, but it does put you on edge. I didn’t think it was going to be that good of a game initially, but as you start playing as a detective looking into a spooky happens, things take a turn for the worse and you end up upside down as you wake up with a rather big chap dissecting human remains across from you. I’ll tell you now, I’m a Resident Evil fan and this is right up my street.

taken from Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Evil_Within

The Evil Within[a] is a survival horror video game developed by Tango Gameworks and published by Bethesda Softworks. The game was directed by Resident Evil series creator Shinji Mikami and was released worldwide in October 2014 for PlayStation 3PlayStation 4WindowsXbox 360, and Xbox One.[1]

The game centers on protagonist Sebastian Castellanos as he is pulled through a distorted world full of nightmarish locations and horrid creatures. Played in a third-person perspective, players battle disfigured nightmare-like enemies, including bosses, using guns and melee weapons, and progress through the levels, avoiding traps, using stealth, and finding collectables.

I haven’t played much of it really , but what I did play I absolutely loved. I’m not sure if this level continues throughout the game, but I’m hoping it does!.

Score 9/10

So there you have it, the games I’ve been playing over September. There has been countless more as I have been streaming quite a lot and zi can’t include all of the games in this blog.. There will be more blogs to follow soon.Why not check out my You Tube channel, could do with the supp

Hope you enjoyed it, more blogs below

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.