A new handheld from Sony?

There’s a lot of rumours flying around currently that Sony are about to announce a new handheld console to the market in 2023/24. So much so that all the YouTubers are already going from, “it’s a rumour” to “this is the console coming out with this spec”. It beggars belief that this is happening as they don’t know yet, but it’s happening all the same.

Now being a huge handheld fan , I currently own a Switch Lite, a PlayStation Vita, many PSPs, a Gameboy, a GBA and of course, mobile, the thought of another handheld from Sony excites me no end. After all, pretty much everyone who loves the PSP and the Vita are practically begging Sony to make another handheld console at this time. Sony really should listen to their consumers instead of pouring resources into the Niche market that is VR. I love VR, it’s amazing and I have not one but 2 PSVR headsets and an Oculas Quest 2. But we have to remember that, a) it’s a niche market and b) most gamers, I’m betting, haven’t even tried it. The mass market isn’t there and I suspect wont ever be there.

Now the rumours out there about the new handheld are rumoured to be a streaming devise add on for the PS5. Not a cloud based PS+ device, but more of an accessory to the PS5. As I don’t own a PS5 I’m very unlikely to buy the described handheld as again, it would be a niche product. Ps5s are expensive and to take advantage of a handheld add on I’d have to fork out not only for the handheld, but a PS5 as well. Not gonna happen. Now remember what I mentioned above about being a handheld fan? Well I’m betting that most of the crowd wanting a handheld from Sony are in the same boat; no PS5! Who would drop £500 on a home console they might not really want anyway? I know I don’t and I’ve had the PS5 and sold it. BLOG HERE; https://skyridertvgaming.wordpress.com/2022/09/06/the-playstation-5/

Now, is it that Sony are testing the water with whatever they bring out as a handheld or are they about to make another mistake? Is it possible that the devise they create might have future plans for streaming PS+ ( which incidentally I use) further down the life? That would be a great option for the fan base and probably keep them happy for a long time. Will this happen? I don’t know but it’s a possibility I’ guess I’m hoping for.

I get that Sony probably doesn’t want to invest in an infrastructure of new games to put on disc/card; the cost is probably high, so they won’t go that way, but I’m hoping they have learned from their shortfalls with the Vita (prop expensive memory cards etc) and look at what the fan base actually wants. I believe a streaming platform to Ps+ is probably a good bet.

Personally, I’m not looking at a gadget that plays video, music or takes pictures. I never use those features on the Vita or the PSP, but rather a gadget that simply plays games. Nintendo have been extremely successful with a handheld that simply plays games, can they learn from that? I hope so. I don’t believe that anyone is really interested in anything but gaming so for me, make it simple and accessible.

I really hope that Sony do create something like this and I excitedly wait to see if A) something is coming and b) its worth the wait. Lets see

Thanks for reading

More links below

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.